I know they have been saying it for a while but here it goes again.  After going through some music on the internet sites I noticed a rapper that I’ve known since he was young.  Then realized that he was a gangster rapper… pause.

At this point my heart was kind of hurt since this was a good nice dude one of those that was charming and charismatic.  The type of cat that definitely got it in terms of how to get anything he wanted in life with his wit.  It made me ask myself what happened that made him turn…pause

Remember in the late ‘90’s seeing him and inquiring about one of his church buddies that I saw out in and about affiliating with some lil knuckle headed gangstas.  He began to explain to me how that is why he kind of had to stop messing with the guy.  Okay so he knew that he was heading in the wrong direction and wanted to avoid it himself…pause.

Then I saw the same guy at my church at a youth function we had, he was hanging out with some younger friends that lived near him.  This placed him in an area that I was more than familiar with since I spent my High School years hanging out in the same areas.  They were known for having lightweight gang activity but nothing gully…pause.

Fast-forward to now and he banging hard on some track about bang bang boogie stuff.  At this point I was floored on one hand I was excited to see another little hommie doing his music thing.  On the other hand I was appalled at the content of the hard core lyrics and swag, he talking about killing niggas? (huh)…pause.

20 plus years I’ve been frequenting this neighborhood and I can count the number of dudes that I would certify as a killer on two hands and he isn’t one of them.  But what I do know is that most of the young guys that do not go to college or move away wind up getting caught up with the hood.  With that said they are known more for boxing than shooting even then they are not a hard core gang area with homicidal tendencies…pause

Don’t get me wrong do I know everything that he has been through or done in his life, NO.  The point that I am making is these dudes need to stop putting all these extras into their entertainment profiles.  I still got plenty of love for dude and will do my research on his stripes since I know all his big hommies (LOL and they know me) who will give me the real.  I’m not saying he isn’t from the hood I’m just saying but talking bagging bodies on interviews…pause